I was reading a post on Occidental Dissent about the condition of slaves in the antebellum South when I remembered that I wanted to share some photos from my latest visit to Kentucky. According to local tradition, the home shown below housed slaves and then sharecroppers. Now it’s overgrown and neglected. Not far away is a (also overgrown) slave/sharecropper cemetery. People and pigs dwelt together in the same house – which is not unusual even today in third-world countries.

A fixer-upper I know. But as Hunter Wallace points out, the lot of whites of that era may have been even worse. At least the slaves were property and, as such, their owners had an interest in keeping them alive and healthy. A sick slave isn’t very useful. Poor whites, on the other hand, may have had only other poor whites to help them out in difficult times.

