My love affair with mushrooms

I’ve always loved mushrooms. A pizza sans mushrooms is not a pizza in my eyes. I eat them with salad, with fish, with poultry and even by themselves. Imagine that; a grown man eating mushrooms by themselves – peeling them with his teeth before finishing them off. Yes, they are fun to eat.

Later in life I discovered the joys of sauteed Portobello mushrooms. Not only are they delicious, but they exude a most heavenly aroma, even if you saute them in nothing more than butter.

One of the saddest events in my life involved some freshly picked mushrooms I had purchased from a street vendor along the forests of western Ukraine. I bought them, wrapped them up and told myself I’d eat them upon my return to the U.S. About a month later I took them out to eat – and they had gone bad. I nearly gauged my eyes out in anguish and nothing could comfort me – until I ate one of those special mushrooms in the Netherlands. That was nice, and it tasted good too.

I’m not a bigot when it comes to mushrooms. I’ll eat them regardless of size, color or shape as long as they’re edible.

Some day I might take on a sidekick:  Fungusamongus.

About jewamongyou

I am a paleolibertarian Jew who is also a race-realist. My opinions are often out of the mainstream and often considered "odd" but are they incorrect? Feel free to set me right if you believe so!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My love affair with mushrooms

  1. countenance says:

    I’m the only person I know in the flesh that likes mushrooms on pizza.

    My personal fanatical comfort food is pickles.

  2. A real mushroom lover doesn’t discriminate against poisonous mushrooms. Poison is just a social construct.

  3. hbd chick says:

    i HATED mushrooms as a kid (it was a texture thing), but now as an adult i absolutely love mushrooms. (^_^)

    go mushroom picking every autumn — lots of chanterelles by us. (^_^)

Leave a Reply

