Melka Kunture, Lake Ziway, another rock-hewn church and a fish market

There are many important archeological digs in Ethiopia. One of these sites is Melka Kunture, which we (I was with a British tourist) visited. The site features a museum, which consists of several modest structures and some replica bones.

hawa18

hawa20

We took a boat trip on Lake Ziway, and saw many interesting birds.

hawa157

hawa84

hawa174

hawa182

hawa205

We stopped at an island, and hiked up to a popular church. On the ascent, we passed a hut, and the woman who lived there gave us some homemade injera.

hawa170

hawa171

The injera was on the gritty side, but the woman’s smile made it delicious. Here’s the church:

hawa169

I wish I could remember the name of the rock-hewn church we visited. It’s south of Addis Ababa. Perhaps somebody will recognize it and help me out:

hawa26

hawa40

hawa42

hawa30

We stopped at a fish market, whose location I also can’t remember:

hawa93

hawa99

hawa96

hawa107

At one point, we stopped at a restaurant by the side of the road. When they brought us the menu, it was covered with a multitude of small spiders! I guess you could say that spiders were on the menu. I tried to order several items, but each time they told me they don’t have that item. It appeared that all they actually had was spaghetti – so that’s what I had. I was hungry, so I tried not to think about the spiders.

As we were about to leave, I noticed that they did have one other item available: Raw meat.

About jewamongyou

I am a paleolibertarian Jew who is also a race-realist. My opinions are often out of the mainstream and often considered "odd" but are they incorrect? Feel free to set me right if you believe so!
This entry was posted in travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

