Travel Musings

Objectively speaking, the airport is the best place to express dissenting views. Security is everywhere, so there’s little risk of being attacked by Antifa. It’s government property, so the First Amendment applies; all lawful sentiments are protected.

So naturally, I wore this face mask at various airports:

Surprisingly, and a little to my disappointment, there were no other political face masks to be seen, not even BLM face masks. I was the only one wearing any sort of political message in this manner, and nobody said anything, or even glared at me.

Of course, the airplanes are private property, so prior to boarding, I switched to my “Boer Lives Matter” face mask. Since the vast majority of Americans get their knowledge, and world view, from the likes of CNN, ABC, MSN etc, very few even know what a Boer is. One man did come up and ask me. Yes, the ignorance is so profound that it’s difficult to even get people to think, let alone start a conversation. People don’t know what a Boer is because CNN doesn’t want them to know. This is why my “Boer Lives Matter” stickers remained on posts in downtown Portland weeks after I’d put them there. People are too ignorant to even be offended.

A friend had requested that I bring him some Dominican rum. Since I travel lightly, and only bring carry-on luggage, I chose to buy the rum at the airport, in one of the duty-free stores. That way I could include it in my carry-on.

Unfortunately, I had a one-day layover in Miami. This meant that I wouldn’t be allowed to get the rum past security upon my return to the airport. Due to my budget ticket, it would have cost me an additional $30 to check a piece of luggage to this end. Not worth it.

I ended up gifting the rum to my relative in Miami. It’s not legal to ship alcoholic beverages via the US Postal Service, UPS or Fedex – unless one has a special license from the government.

The more I thought about it, the more clear it became that we are slaves of the government in the country that’s supposed to be “The Land of the Free.” Dominicans have more freedom than Americans. Things will only get worse, especially with Biden as president.

The eccentric American expats are right about living in places like Dominican Republic, Costa Rica and Mexico. They want to have some semblance of freedom in their lives, and the United States simply does not deliver.

Regarding Dominicans, this is as good a place as any to point out that the vast majority of my experiences with them were positive; they’re very friendly and helpful. On various occasions, I needed a wireless connection in order to order an Uber. Strangers stepped forward to allow me to use their personal cell-phone networks. People smiled and waved as I walked by, even if they wanted nothing from me.

As for their driving, it could be better. I had one Uber driver text for several minutes as he drove. Aggressive driving is the norm, and traffic laws are mere suggestions. Of course, this is the case in most of the world.

Dominicans love loud music, to the point of offending my sensitive ears.

Safety is not always a priority. Scooters weave through traffic in the rain carrying entire families, and most don’t wear helmets. People text while riding scooters and motorcycles.

Here’s a man working on a roof. I took the photos from my hotel room window:

The building had 7 stories. If he’d slipped and fallen, he would have suffered a messy death. As you can see, it would have been easy for him to have used a harness. At least he wore a face mask, sort of.

There is a quarantine in place due to the CCP-Virus. Police wander about looking for violators – for their own safety. If they’re so concerned about safety, why don’t they focus on fixing death traps, such as this hole in the middle of the sidewalk in Punta Cana?

My first stop was Punta Cana, which is only a few miles from Puerto Rico (on the Eastern tip of the island). On a map, it looks easy, but the sea can be rough. In fact, stormy weather is an invitation for ambitious Dominicans to attempt the journey on primitive boats – because the coast guard doesn’t patrol on those nights. People die regularly in such attempts, and I met some locals who told me that they’d lost many friends this way.

Map of the Dominican Republic. © 2011 Vidiani.com-Maps of all countries in one place. 
Courtesy of Researchgate.net

It’s not good to conclude a post in this way, so I’ll point out that the all-inclusive resorts of Dominican Republic are great bargains. Without exception I was treated well, and my room in Punta Cana even featured a whirlpool bathtub. It was awesome.

About jewamongyou

I am a paleolibertarian Jew who is also a race-realist. My opinions are often out of the mainstream and often considered "odd" but are they incorrect? Feel free to set me right if you believe so!
This entry was posted in activism, immigration/ Hispanics, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Travel Musings

  1. spesbona cape says:

    How do they prevent a huge influx of Haitians? Is there a border wall or fence?

  2. And what of the Dominican ladies? Inquiring minds want to know.

    • jewamongyou says:

      Most of them are average, but some are hot. Pretty much like everywhere else. More importantly, as Steve Brule will attest, their personalities haven’t been afflicted with feminism. Men are men, and women are women.

Leave a comment