Southern African “clicking”

The “clicking” languages of Southern Africa are famous among scholars.  Linguists have even entertained the idea that these languages are vestiges of the oldest human speech.  Most such languages are members of the Khoisan language family, the most popular being Khosa, spoken by several million people.

Semitic languages have a similar sound: the Hebrew “Qof”, known in Arabic as “Qa”.  You can here it in this poem:

To hear it in Hebrew, you would have to listen to me since very few Hebrew speakers still know how to do this.  Some Iraqi Jews were good at it – and other Israelis would wonder how they would say “Coca-Cola” (Qoqa Qola – as spelled in Hebrew).

Incidentally, the word “Qof” means “monkey”.  It is possible that a monkey species, found in that part of the world so long ago, was accustomed to making such sounds.  The Arabic word for monkey, “Qurd”, also starts with the Qa sound.

Is it possible that there is an ancient link between Semitic languages and the clicking languages of Southern Africa?  The original clicking people of Southern Africa were not Negro; they were a distinct, lighter colored race known as Khoisan or Capoid (since they are found in “the Cape”).  Considering that their original range was much wider than it is today, perhaps this is not so far-fetched.

About jewamongyou

I am a paleolibertarian Jew who is also a race-realist. My opinions are often out of the mainstream and often considered "odd" but are they incorrect? Feel free to set me right if you believe so!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Southern African “clicking”

  1. Patrick says:

    I’m white and when I was younger I used to click my tongue randomaly, I think a lot of children click their tongues randomly or maybe they do.

  2. The Mighty Tig says:

    Interesting hypothesis about the origin of the clicking sound. Are you aware of any other languages that might still utilize it?

    • jewamongyou says:

      Thanks for dignifying my idea as a “hypothesis”. I would be more realistic by referring to it as an “interesting thought”. But no, I am not aware of such other languages.

      I did want to point out, however, that there is much variety in the pronunciation of the qof in Semitic languages. I wonder if the same is true of the clicking sound in Khoisan languages.

  3. Patrick says:

    little white girl clicking her tongue

  4. fred says:

    As Patrick said, clicking appears to be a universal sound among children. People probably have some inborn genetic instinct for clicking.

    If you’re interested in ancient language you might find this clip interesting. This link is from the BBC’s The Story of India. I’m going to try to link it so it comes up at the right part. But if it doesn’t work the relevant part beings at 4:30.

  5. kman says:

    Somalis click sometimes. I’ve seen a head inclination and a click used with no spoken words.
    Here in the states ventilatec quadreplegics learn to click. much to the anoyance of staff but simple yes no is easy.

    • jewamongyou says:

      Israelis click, in that manner, as well. It seems to be a universal Mideastern way of saying “no” without having to say “no”. But this click is from the front part of the pallet. I’m not sure where the Southern African click comes from.

Leave a comment